Nostalgic Christmas Music and a little Celtic Cheer

happyholidays_musicxmas456Most readers and visitors to PW know of my love for music and film, but what may not be known is my great appreciation for the music, especially Christmas music, that my parents introduced to me in the early 1960s.

One particular album that I especially loved was HAPPY HOLIDAYS ©1962.  It was a variety of different artists singing the Christmas classics.  We played it every Christmas for at least 20 years and now the album cover is in pieces, but the record still plays.  I was able to locate two of the songs on YouTube which I want to share with you.

This first one is “Good King Wenceslas” which is actually an “after Christmas” carol, and celebrates St. Stephen’s day, December 26th.  On that day, runs the 1000 year old legend, the Bohemian King Wenceslas used to distribute his riches to the poor.  In this performance, the Ames Brothers follow in the steps of another old tradition-family caroling.

The next song from the HH album is “Come To The Manger” a Slovak Christmas carol sang by The Augustana Choir renders a song that is a favorite among children – and so is the tradition of the Christmas crib it celebrates.  The ceremony of building a manger was first popularized by St. Francis of Assisi.  Long a custom in Southern Europe, the manger has recently become a Christmas highlight for American youngsters.  (From the HH album description.)

And a new recent favorite by celtic singer, Loreena McKennitt.  It’s called A Winter Garden. 

If you would like to check out Happy Holidays I it is still available here.

I hope you enjoy these traditional songs as much as I always have.  In our home, it would not be Christmas without them.

Peace on earth, good will toward men and women.

Whitewraithe~

3 thoughts on “Nostalgic Christmas Music and a little Celtic Cheer

Comments are closed.