My American Military Heritage – a Tribute to my Marine Corp. Father

Pictured in this 1960 black and white photograph is my honorable father in his Marine dress blues, my beautiful mother and myself at 2-years.  The image was captured outside our apartment at Camp Le June, N.C. during one of my father’s returns from and overseas mission, of which there were many.  For the first two years of my life I never knew who my father was because he was out of the country for extended periods.  He spent 22 years in the Marine Corp as a Mastery Gunnery Sargent when it was the place in the military for “a few good men.”  However, when the branches of the corp began to deteriorate in the early 1960’s with more Jews grabbing the reigns of power my father retired because he hated the corruption that was fast coming down the pipe.  During Vietnam they called him back on three separate occasions and he refused them every time.  My father was a decent gentleman, and upheld his duty and honor to this country and was respected by the men in his platoons.  I was very proud of him.  In 2001, 42 days before 9/11 he passed away from Pancreatic Cancer.  I miss him so much and was so proud to be his daughter.

Merry Christmas, Dad.

P1010722semper-fi

5 thoughts on “My American Military Heritage – a Tribute to my Marine Corp. Father

  1. Thank you for sharing this very special photo. I have the utmost respect for your father and the job he did for our country. Merry Christmas and God Bless. Sempre Fi

  2. Semper Fi, Whitewraithe. That is a good looking Marine family and I’m sure that he was and is proud of you. Merry Christmas.

Comments are closed.