MUSIC BREAK: Sundown by Gordon Lightfoot 1974

Sundown is music the way it used to be.  Just listen to the lyrics and that unforgettable melody.  Gordon Lightfoot was one of my very favorite performers and I carried that tune in my head for years in the 1970s. 

My other favorite was The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald which really happened on Lake Gitche Gumee in 1976, I believe.  The storm gale that swept this huge freighter filled to the brim with iron ore under the waves was called the “witch of November.”  WW~ 

History behind the wreck of the SS Edmund Fitzgerald

The ship's bell was recovered from the wreck on July 4, 1995.  Today, the bell from the Fitzgerald on display at the Great Lakes Shipwreck Museum.

The ship’s bell was recovered from the wreck on July 4, 1995. Today, the bell from the Fitzgerald on display at the Great Lakes Shipwreck Museum.